Skip to content

Vintage Green Strings

October 14, 2011

Another quilt finally has its binding!  This quilt, similar to the Tic Tac Toe quilt, has been sitting in my UFO pile for months, pieced and quilted and 90% finished.  I even had the fabric for the binding, ready and waiting.  I’ve always been motivated by a deadline, and this time it was the fact that my sister was hosting Thanksgiving this year, and I wanted to be able to take it to her.

Vintage Green Strings

I am really pleased with the finished product.  When I first started out I wasn’t so sure that I loved all the fabrics, but this is a memory quilt of sorts, since I was using the leftover bits from the lids of the wedding favours from my sister’s wedding last September.  But as I started piecing the blocks I really fell in love with the way that things were looking.  And then I started to get seriously bored with sewing these blocks.  I love how string quilts look, but it will be a while before I start another one!

Vintage Green Strings

The binding selection was the result of a consultation with the fabulous members of the Toronto Modern Quilt Guild.  I was so unsure of what to do.  I had considered using one of the sheets from the quilt, but worried that it would be too busy.  Someone suggested yellow and pretty soon we had every bolt of yellow fabric in the shop on the table!  Kona Buttercup was the winner because it leaned ever-so-slightly towards green, while still appearing yellow when it was next to the quilt top.

Vintage Green Strings

Of course, the best part is that Rachel and Sean love it. And that was really the whole point. :)

14 Comments leave one →
  1. October 14, 2011 8:32 PM

    YAY! Gorgeous finish Sheila! I know this quilt was a real labor of love for you! :)

    • October 14, 2011 11:34 PM

      Thanks, Jeni! Yes, it was definitely around longer than I had hoped, but I thrilled with the result, as are the recipients. :)

  2. October 14, 2011 11:59 PM

    What a great momento for your sister! I love the colors, what a great job!!

    • October 15, 2011 12:59 AM

      They were her wedding colours, too. Us bridesmaids wore grass green dresses, and our bouquets were made of citrusy yellows and oranges…it was really lovely!

  3. October 15, 2011 12:46 PM

    It’s very lively and beautiful!

  4. October 15, 2011 3:42 PM

    Gorgeous quilt, and I love the tic tack toe one too!

  5. October 16, 2011 1:55 PM

    It is beautiful! I’m sure they are thrilled with it. Fabulous job. :)

  6. Quilty Stuff permalink
    October 16, 2011 3:43 PM

    Sheila,
    You did a great job on this quilt! I bet it feels great to finish another one.
    Keep up the good work.
    Michelle

  7. October 17, 2011 7:18 PM

    Beautiful greens! You are so talented.

    xo,

    Sarah

  8. October 17, 2011 10:31 PM

    what a gorgeous finish! and hurray that they loved it! that’s the best.

    i’m about ready to make a string quilt (you know, when i get some other wips finished!)….i made a spiderweb quilt and i loved the labor intensive piecing of it. i’ll admit, that IS so weird!

    thanks for linking up to finish it up Friday!

  9. October 25, 2011 11:15 AM

    Stunning! I have such an attraction to green. Love it!

  10. October 26, 2011 9:11 PM

    beautiful!!

  11. December 13, 2011 11:04 PM

    Oh WOW! I need this in my life. Like seriously. Need.

  12. February 6, 2012 10:15 PM

    Yeah, I know I’m a bit late in commenting on this, but DUDE! This is GORGEOUS! Well done.

I'd love to hear from you, so please share your thoughts! I try to respond whenever I can, but I don't always have chance. But I read each and every one!