Skip to content

Diamond-Hearted Star

January 12, 2012

Ok, technically I think this block is called Ohio Star, but that just isn’t descriptive enough for me.  And since this isn’t a Civil War repro quilt, I’m taking some liberties and ignoring some of the traditional block names.  (Not that there’s anything wrong with Civil War reproductions…my Nana has some fabrics produced by the Smithsonian Collection in her stash that I want to steal every time I’m at her place.)

With this star we’re back to manipulating the centre, and leaving the tips alone.  This is also the first time that my method creates any waste, but it does avoid working with bias-cut pieces, and since there are a number of people in the group who are relatively new quilters I think this method should be a little more painless.  In all, you will need to start with fourteen (14) pieces, cut according to the following dimensions:

Diamond Hearted Star Tutorial

As usual, the points are made using the method outlined in the Basic Sawtooth Star tutorial, so I won’t repeat them here.  We’re going to jump ahead to putting together the diamond in the centre.  To start, mark the centreline of the 3-1/2″ squares, and then mark a second line at 1/2″ to one side.  Then pin to of these squares to the 6-1/2″ square, right sides together, making sure that the second, off-set, line is to the outside.

Diamond Hearted Star Tutorial

Sew along the marked lines using scant 1/4″ seams.  Then cut down the centre between your seam lines to produce three (3) separate pieces.

Diamond Hearted Star Tutorial

Once you’ve pressed the pieces open you’ll see that you have two (2) HST units, and a larger square with triangles on two of the corners.

Diamond Hearted Star Tutorial

Take the remaining 3-1/2″ squares and pin them to the larger square in the same manner as before, but on the other two corners, again insuring that the second marked line is to the outside.

Diamond Hearted Star Tutorial

And again sew along the marked lines using scant 1/4″ seams and cut  between your  seam lines to produce three (3) separate pieces.

Diamond Hearted Star Tutorial

You should now have four (4) HST units, and a 6-1/2″ square with a diamond in the centre.

Diamond Hearted Star Tutorial

The four HST units aren’t required for this block, but for very little extra work you’ve turned awkward triangular scraps into finished blocks that can be used elsewhere in this quilt (for a pinwheel centre in an 8″ star, for instance), or in another project.  I always do this when the opportunity arises, since I am much more likely to find a use for the HSTs than I am the triangle scraps. :)

Finally, before moving forward, square up what you have so far to avoid any frustration with the final assembly.

Diamond Hearted Star Tutorial

Following the instructions in the Basic Sawtooth Star tutorial, assemble all your parts.  Press and voila!  Block #5 is done!

Diamond Hearted Star Tutorial

Let me know if you have any questions!

Oh My Stars! (A Quilt-Along)

 

I'd love to hear from you, so please share your thoughts! I try to respond whenever I can, but I don't always have chance. But I read each and every one!