Skip to content

Catch-Up

November 6, 2010

I haven’t had much time lately to post, so I figure it’s time for a bit of an update.

I’ve been neglecting my sewing lately (although as soon as I’m done here I’m going to sit at the machine and try to get a few more blocks done for the “secret” quilt), but I’ve been playing around with fabrics and pondering what my next project might be.   Perhaps it’s because it’s autumn, but I am really drawn to deep oranges and magentas and fuchsias right now.

"Crisp Fall Morning"

The top fabric (Erin Stripe in Toffee from The Big E by Michael Miller) was the focus fabric in this stack.   I could really see the stripe as the binding, and then I pulled other fabrics from my stash to coordinate.  What do you think?  (If you are wondering what each fabric is, click on the picture.   The Flickr version has them all noted.)

I’ve also been toying with starting a project with my small collection of vintage fabrics.   These all came from my grandmother’s stash.  She didn’t think she’d ever use them, and I love them!

Vintage Fabric Squares

Due to the age of the fabrics, I really think that a more traditional quilt would be fun.   I’m leaning towards a basic Flying Geese or Shoo-Fly or something.   But using white as a background to keep it fresh and contemporary.  Any ideas?

But if you’re wondering where I’ve been wasting most of my spare time this week, it’s filling up the idea boards on my brand new Pinterest account.  What’s that, you say?   Well, Pinterest is a new social media service that allows you to collect images from all over the web into one place.   It’s great for keeping track of things that you generally find inspiring or beautiful, or organizing ideas for a specific project.  Until now I have kept these images in a labyrinthine (although very systematic) series of folders on my harddrive, as well as an expanding set of notebooks in Evernote.  But this is so much faster and more efficient!   And it allows me to share my sense of style with you all without having to blog about every single item.  (Who has time for that, anyway?!)

So head over and check it out! (You can also find a link to my account over in the side bar)  And if you already have an account, I’d love to know who you are so that I can start following your pins. :)

Finally, here are some great giveaways that you should enter before it’s too late:

Scrappy Giveaway

Summer in the City

Anna Maria Horner - Innocent Crush

Happy Saturday!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 20, 2010 1:18 AM

    Do you still have this giveaway on i would love to win this fabric for my charity work.
    Thanks

    • November 20, 2010 10:22 PM

      Hi Mo, actually, none of these contests are on my blog. If you click on the pictures it will take you to the blogs that are hosting them. Usually I write that little hint in the text, but I guess I forgot this time! Anyway, the first two are closed now (I just checked), but I think the third one is still open. Good luck!

Trackbacks

  1. Vintage Charms « thought & found

I'd love to hear from you, so please share your thoughts! I try to respond whenever I can, but I don't always have chance. But I read each and every one!