Skip to content

Shimmering Star

February 16, 2012

Are you seeing the starry quilt at the end of the tunnel?  I know I am!  I’m really looking forward to putting this sucker together!

This star is pretty straightforward, with lots of repetition, but because there are so many pieces there is also lots of opportunity for little inaccuracies to add up.  So a little extra diligence is required with both the cutting and the seam allowances in order to end up with a finished block that is 12-1/2″ unfinished.  Also, while I have provided the dimensions for the 4″ star because it’s tradition at this point, I’ll be really impressed if any of you succeed in making one!

Shimmering Star Tutorial

There are many ways to arrange the pieces to achieve a number of effects, including the following three (although there are many more if you play around) :

Shimmering Star Tutorial

Shimmering Star Tutorial

Shimmering Star Tutorial

Shimmering Star Tutorial

The last option is the one that I picked, since I thought it was the most “shimmery.”

First, use twelve (12) squares from each of the two fabrics to make HST square units.  (Save 4 of each to cut in half diagonally for the star points.)

Shimmering Star Tutorial

Forgive me for not walking you through each step, but I figure that we’ve done this before, so you probably know what to do, right?!  When the HST squares are sewn and pressed, trim them to 2″ (1-1/2″ | 1″) before continuing.

Again, I didn’t take pictures of putting the centre together, since it’s essentially a 16-patch.  Just make sure that it’s 6-1/2″ (4-1/2″ | 2-1/2″) square when you’re finished.  And you should have eight (8) of the HST squares left over for the points.

Speaking of the points…  Which pieces go where will be a bit different depending on the layout you decide upon, but the method is the same no matter what.  You’re going to sew two (2) of the HSTs you cut earlier to each of the remaining HST squares, following the steps below:

Shimmering Star Tutorial

Shimmering Star Tutorial

Shimmering Star Tutorial

(I didn’t notice that I had forgotten to clip the overhanging seam allowance until after I had documented this step, but you clipping it will help keep the bulk down, so I recommend it.)

Shimmering Star Tutorial

When you have the points sewn and pressed, trim them to 3-7/8″ (2-7/8″ | 1-7/8″) on both sides that create the right angle, and then trim the diagonal to the new “corners.”  You should be trimming off an amount about 1/8″ wide.

From here, you can sew up your star point flying geese following the directions we used last time for the Plaid Star, and then put the whole thing together!

Shimmering Star Tutorial

One more to go!!!!

Oh My Stars! (A Quilt-Along)

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 17, 2012 10:42 AM

    I think I’ll go with the same layout you picked! It will be tough to make the tiny ones though… especially since seam accuracy is not my strong suit. Perhaps it would be good practice!

  2. Heather permalink
    February 20, 2012 1:59 PM

    I loved making this star, the pattern is wonderful. I finally caught up on the 12″ stars, have the last 8 – 8″ stars cut-out, then to tackle all of the 4″ (i have a few to redo and about 40 to start making).

    I am loving this quilt-a-long. Hope I can find another one to join when this one is done. I think this is the fastest/most efficiently I have made a large quilt in a long time :)

  3. February 20, 2012 3:50 PM

    WHOA! That is one amazing block! Very well done.

  4. SK Krantz permalink
    February 22, 2012 10:18 PM

    Just to let you know, I really like the lay out of the stars. I have a UFO I started probably eight years ago. It was stars, but misplaced the pattern and was naive enough that I didn’t realize I need to plan how many stars of each size. I thought the stars were 4″ and 6″, nope, the 4″ and 8″. Since it was Christmas fabric and all different backgrounds and different stars, I did not make the different variations on the stars. I used the layout and added the Christmas fabrics I have aquired since. I turned out pretty wild, but I really like it.

I'd love to hear from you, so please share your thoughts! I try to respond whenever I can, but I don't always have chance. But I read each and every one!

