Skip to content

The Eagle Has Landed…

April 13, 2011

Three days ago I had no idea that this fabric even existed, and now I have eight prints in my hot little hands, and more on the way!

New Denyse Schmidt!

In order for you to understand the full extent of the crazy that transpired on Monday I’m going to walk you through the chain of events:

My sister and brother-in-law were here on Sunday night, since they flew to Seattle for a week on Monday, and I’m looking after their two dogs while they’re away.  (Yes, that’s right, THREE ridgebacks in one house…it’s been a bit of a Gong Show at dinner time, but that’s a whole other story!)  Anyway, Rachel and Sean had just left for the airport, and I decided to make myself a cuppa and check in with my Flickr peeps, since I hadn’t had time to do so for a few days.  I figured that the post-dinner mess from the night before could wait for a few moments…

I arrived at the {Designer} Fabric – Stash – Swappy – Poo discussion boards and discovered a new topic titled “DS fabric @ Joanns!!” that already had almost 200 replies.  “Hmmm…I wonder what this is all about?” I mused to myself as I clicked through to find out.  Lo, it seemed that there had been a Denyse Schmidt fabric sighting at Jo-Ann Fabrics, which is a large discount fabric store in the United States.  I’ve never been to one, but from the way people describe it I think that it’s very similar to Fabricland here in Ontario.  Very quickly people were calling their local stores and finding out if it has arrived yet.

At first I was a bit disappointed, since I wasn’t going to be able to get in on the action…and then it hit me.  Tong and Sylvia were just driving home after attending the International Quilt Festival in Cincinnati, and maybe, just MAYBE, I could catch them before they crossed the border.  So I fired off a quick email to Tong, who has a Blackberry, and what felt like moments later I got an email back, saying that they had found the closest Jo-Ann’s and what did the fabric look like?!

The ladies were lucky enough to not only find eight of the prints, but to also sweet-talk the lady at the cash to give them eight 50% off coupons!  So all in all we did pretty well, I think. ;)  And a few short hours later, we were in my kitchen splitting up our haul of new, hot-off-the-presses, Denyse Schmidt fabrics.  Not bad for a day’s work on the interwebz!

New Denyse Schmidt!

(One more glamour shot in case you had already forgotten how lovely they were…)

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 14, 2011 1:58 AM

    Love it…I ran out on monday too(flickr inspired) and tried to find as many as I could… I spent the next couple days searching when I was out … Ive already cut into mine… I really really love right? hooray! Canadians got some!
    exciting! Fun! really great photos!

    • April 25, 2011 9:18 AM

      Good for you for cutting into it so quickly! I’ll definitely be hoarding mine for a while, but only because I have too many projects already in the queue that I want to get to, first. I’d love to get some of the Aussie prints, too, but I doubt I’ll be able to afford them. :(

  2. April 14, 2011 8:06 AM

    LOL!! we are quite the crazy bunch, aren’t we?? sylvia and i were talking about how crazy everything all fell into place… what were the odds that you’d actually find the fabrics and told us about it before we crossed the border, and the first exit we got off, there was a joann’s around the corner, and we found a very sweet and helpful lady there who checked the SKU numbers and told us to go to a different joann’s that already had the bolts, and to get those coupons?! i think it was meant to be =P

    • April 25, 2011 9:19 AM

      It was divine intervention, for sure!! Thanks again for picking some up for me!

I'd love to hear from you, so please share your thoughts! I try to respond whenever I can, but I don't always have chance. But I read each and every one!

