Skip to content

Bee Blocks

March 23, 2011

I’ve joined my first virtual quilting bee, the Great White North Bee, which is an all-Canadian bee for people who like modern fabrics and modern quilts.  I spent a bit of time over the last few days finishing up Brenda’s blocks for March, and getting ahead of the game on Kristy’s blocks for April.  I’ve really been enjoying the process of trying out something new without the commitment of a large project.

Wonky Stars For Brenda (GWNB)

Brenda wanted wonky stars set in a nine-patch for her month, and I decided that I would just sit down on Sunday night and chain-piece all the points.  Well, it seems that I got into a bit too much of a zone, and I ended up putting points on ALL of the smaller squares that she’d sent along…oops!  I had to use the larger squares which were meant for the nine-patch in order to finish off the stars.  So while I didn’t actually complete the two blocks, I did finish the 9 wonky stars she needed, as well as enough points for another 9.  And next time I’ll be sure to pay better attention!

Stacked Coins for Kristy (GWNB)

Kristy’s blocks were quick and fun and I LOVE the fabrics she choose!  They were a simple stacks of six coins, off-set.  You can find her tutorial here if you want to give it a try.  I’m really looking forward to seeing this one when it’s all finished.

Sylvia has the month of May, and I can’t wait to see what she’s chosen for us to do!

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 29, 2016 4:57 PM

    Hi, Im new in here. I would like to be invited so I can go and see your tutorial … it looks very beautiful.
    Thank you!

I'd love to hear from you, so please share your thoughts! I try to respond whenever I can, but I don't always have chance. But I read each and every one!

