Skip to content

“Stacks of Colour” Quilt

March 13, 2011

Ok, so first let me say that I’m not thrilled with that name yet. I’ve been playing with it for awhile, and I haven’t hit that “that’s it!” moment yet. So it will likely change… But if anyone has any ideas I’d love to here them!

Anyhoo…when I first posted my plan for this quilt a few weeks ago, there was some interest from people who wanted to join in. I’m super busy and rather scattered these days, so I think a quilt-a-long would be a disaster. People would be waiting months for the next step! But as I move along I’ll post my progress and my decisions.

I worked out some sizing options so that if you don’t want to make a queen-sized quilt, which is what I’m making, you can still make use of the design.

The design uses eight (8) solid fabrics, and in my case I’m using eight soft neutrals. But you can use any eight colours you’d like, and I whipped up a few examples so that you can get a sense of how changing the colours will change the overall mood of the finished quilt.

Stacks of Colour - Bold Stacks of Colour - Fresh
Stacks of Colour - Neutral Stacks of Colour - Dark

There are only three (3) unique pieces in the quilt:
60 x 7.5″ x 5.5″ (7″ x 5″ finished)
60 x 14.5″ x 5.5″ (14″ x 5″ finished)
20 x 21.5″ x 5.5″ (21″ x 5″ finished)

The breakdown according to colour is as follows:

At some point I’ll write up a complete, downloadable pattern, but I have to finish my quilt first! I’ll keep you posted! But in the mean time, I’d love to see how you are reinterpreting the design to suit your own needs, so I created a Flickr group (thought&found designs) so that people can share their progress with me. I can’t wait to see what other people make!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 14, 2011 7:08 PM

    Can’t wait to see your quilt!

  2. March 17, 2011 5:30 AM

    This looks great! My mind is clicking away trying to figure out if I have fabric in my stash that I could make one (or more) of these quilts with. Is the placement all random? Are you sewing rows of blocks together or columns together first?

    • March 17, 2011 3:17 PM

      Thanks so much, Cheryl! Firstly, your comment has reminded me that I forgot to put yardage requirements in the post…oops! You’ll need a yard of each of the eight colours.

      As far as the placement goes, it is essentially random, but I spent a good amount of time rearranging the pieces so that it was still a balanced composition. The eight neutrals that I’m using for my own quilt are actually a bit more subtle than the diagram implies, but I wanted it to be clear which colours were which for anyone following along. Also, there are two groups of cutting amounts, and in each group I tried to balance the darker and lighter colours.

      Finally, I think that it will be easier to line up the seams by sewing together the columns first. I’d be worried that there might be a bit too much stretching going on if I did the rows first. What do you think?

Trackbacks

  1. Quilt Challenge | Dreamz Happen Quiltz
  2. Neutral Grid Pillow « thought & found

I'd love to hear from you, so please share your thoughts! I try to respond whenever I can, but I don't always have chance. But I read each and every one!

