Skip to content

Sunday Stash #4

December 5, 2010

Ok, so I’ve been wanting to share some pictures of these goodies ever since they arrived, but the last few weekends have either been too busy or too cloudy, and they really deserve some lovely, natural lighting, don’t you think?!

Splurge x100

I’ve been stalking these fabric on the V&A website for months, since they were released in conjunction with the exhibition Quilts 1700 – 2010 last spring at the Victoria and Albert Museum in London, UK. I would put them all in a cart, and then talk myself out of it before I could click “buy.”

1st Nine

2nd Nine

Then about a month ago I received an email notice of a sale in the online shop and I knew that this was the moment. So I threw them all in a cart and bought them before I could talk myself out of it again. And when they arrived I knew that I’d made the right choice. I love them. Entirely. Even the ones that I ordered just so that I’d have the complete set.

If I HAD to Pick Favourites...

I’m sure it will be AGES before I can bring myself to cut into them, but I’d love to hear some suggestions about what to do with these lovelies! On the one hand, they’d look great in an old-fashioned hexie quilt or some other traditional setting. But then I think it would be great to subvert the heritage of the prints with something really modern and abstract. (To be honest, since I bought a metre of each print, I likely have enough for both!) What do you think?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. December 6, 2010 10:35 PM

    Aren’t they just heavenly. How about an abstract, patchwork as a wall hanging, or framed in a picture frame?

    I’ve always thought watch bands, like on these Liberty watches, would be a freakin awesome way to use scraps, if there could possibly be scraps with fabric like this

  2. December 9, 2010 1:18 PM

    Your fabrics are gorgeous! And, yes, I too would have a difficult time deciding what to make! (btw – found you in the comments at JCasa :-) )

  3. December 14, 2010 1:14 AM

    oh, they look even better in your pics than they do on the v&a website. I’ve had my eye on them for SO long! hmmm, christmas wishlist!

  4. December 14, 2010 4:55 PM

    Thanks, guys! I am very much in love with them!

    @Reb That watch is gorgeous! I’d never seen it before, but now I must have one. You’re right, you could totally make your own extra straps, which would be so much fun. (I’m imagining vintage silk scarves…)

    @Amy Thanks for stopping by! I just checked out your blog, and you have some wonderful creations. :)

    @Alexia I say go for it. They’re spendy, but really lovely. If you subscribe to the V&A Shops email newsletter, they’ll let you know when there’s a sale, which is when I bought mine.

  5. January 2, 2011 12:38 AM

    I agree with Alexia, they’re even more beautiful in your photos that on the V&A website. I can just imagine how much better they are in real life.

  6. Jane permalink
    February 19, 2011 6:29 PM

    I don`t think I would ever use them – just look at them from time to time. They are beautiful.

I'd love to hear from you, so please share your thoughts! I try to respond whenever I can, but I don't always have chance. But I read each and every one!

