Skip to content

Today Was A Good Day.

August 18, 2010

It has been a hot and humid summer. To make matters worse, my studio space is in the loft of a very tall and VERY non-airconditioned townhouse. This has meant that over the last few months I have had absolutely no desire to spend time tidying and cleaning, and the studio has slowly become a complete disaster. Well, the heat and humidity has let up for a few days, and I decided to take advantage of the break by cleaning the house. And no, I don’t have a “before” picture. It would have been too embarrassing…

But here is the after!

Tidy.

It’s amazing how much more comfortable the room feels, not just because the temperature has dropped, but because the mess was making it feel so claustrophobic. I still have a bit of work to do around my computer desk, but I’m so pleased that I put in the hours this week to clean everything up.

Stash.

I also moved my fabric stash from a corner that was out of view to a spot right beside my sewing table. So now I can gaze lovingly at my fabric whenever my thesis is particularly boring. (Hehe.)  My grandfather built this shelf, and I’ve had it since I was a little girl.  It has followed me to many apartments, and now it is home to my fabric stash.  I think I’ll need to find a new use for it soon, since my fabric collection has almost outgrown the space!

And speaking of fabric…

I also got some FANTASTIC mail today!

Mail.

A few weeks ago, Dana from Thistle Hill Fabrics had a sale on Amy Butler “Love,” and since I have been admiring the line from afar for quite some time, I decided to splurge and buy some for myself.

Stacked.

The only problem is that I’m not sure that I’ll be able to cut into it. It’s just too wonderful!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 24, 2010 11:36 AM

    What beautiful thesis distractions you have! Hopefully the gazes you make over to your lovely stash will be motivators too. I would give myself little thesis goals and if I finished them I got to do little crafty things. Often though once I set the goal and got to work I didn’t stop so I didn’t always get my rewards – for me starting is always the hardest part! Here’s to fabric inspiration!

    • October 4, 2010 12:14 AM

      Yeah, I’m totally the same way. It’s the starting that’s difficult! I’m also much more motivated by deadlines, so I am trying to book more frequent meetings with my advisor so that I have something to work towards!

I'd love to hear from you, so please share your thoughts! I try to respond whenever I can, but I don't always have chance. But I read each and every one!

