Skip to content

Vintage Scraps

July 15, 2010

Vintage Scraps.

The last time I was at my parents’ place, my mum and I discovered a box full of scraps from the clothing she used to make when we were little.  When looking through the pile, so many of them were so familiar.  Some were from the dresses that she made for my sister and I, some were from the cute overalls she made for my brother, and the rest were from the clothing she made for herself.  Almost everything in the box was 100% cotton, so I asked her if I could take them and use them for a quilt.  She said yes!

Washed and Pressed.

Since everything had been sitting in that box for quite a while (at least 15 years…), I thought everything could stand to be washed.  Also, there were a few fabrics in the pile that she remembered had run, so those ones definitely needed prewashing.  Now that everything is washed and pressed and stacked, it doesn’t look like nearly as much fabric as it did when it was wrinkled.

Mini Flowers.

I love all the vintage florals, and I think they would look great if I used them all for a quilt top.  I think I need to hunt for a few more, though, since I don’t think that there’s quite enough here yet.

How fabulous are these selvedges?!

Mum was a big fan of Laura Ashley in the 70s and 80s, and she told me about going into the stores when she was in her twenties to buy fabric for clothes.  Apparently the fabric was really affordable and fashion-forward, and of a high quality as well.  I wish such places still existed!  I particularly love the selvedges on these fabrics.  They are wide, with large fonts and even the year in roman numerals.  So cool!

I’m going home again this weekend, and I think I may have to raid my grandmother’s stash this time.  Maybe she has more of those vintage mini florals…

I'd love to hear from you, so please share your thoughts! I try to respond whenever I can, but I don't always have chance. But I read each and every one!

