Skip to content

Spring Seedlings

May 20, 2010

It was absolutely gorgeous out today, so I spent some time with the seedlings for this year’s crop of basil.

Basil Seedlings
Basil Seedlings Basil Seedlings

I started these seedlings from seeds that I collected from last year’s crop, which I’m really proud of.  This will be the least expensive crop I’ve ever put in, and really sustainable, too!  I started them indoors using those little pucks of soil that expand when they get wet, and they’re now large enough to be moved into larger pots, where they’ll live until the risk of a late frost has passed.

Lemon Tree

I also started a lemon tree from seed.  I have no idea what to expect from this, but I read somewhere that it might actually bear fruit one day, although it could be five or six years from now.  But even if it doesn’t it should make a lovely house plant.  A roommate I had years ago had a tree grown from an orange seed, and if you rubbed the leaves it let off a wonderful citrus-y smell.  If that’s all that I get out of this I’ll still be pleased.  I’ll keep you posted!

What are you doing?

Of course, Stella couldn’t understand why I was putting dirt into pots, since her idea of a good time is digging things out.  But she enjoyed the warmth and the sunshine nonetheless.

No comments yet

I'd love to hear from you, so please share your thoughts! I try to respond whenever I can, but I don't always have chance. But I read each and every one!

