Skip to content

Vintage Sheet Swap

April 16, 2010

For several months I have been stalking the various quilting groups on Flickr and dreaming of having enough free time to start some projects of my own. (Reason #523 that I should finish my thesis!)  Well, I have take the first step by joining the Vintage Sheet Swap group and I have been scouring the local thrifts for fabulous designs.

Stacked

I have already learned a few things in the process.  Foremost is that most of the best designs are often printed on a 50% cotton / 50% polyester blend, or some thing similar. It turns out that these “no iron” fabrics were all the rage beginning in the 1950s and continuing into the 1990s, when a renewed interest in natural fibres helped 100% cotton make a serious comeback.

I haven’t done much quilting, but I was always told (by my grandmother, who quilts obsessively) that one should quilt with nothing but 100% cotton, so I was a little concerned at first that all I could find were these cotton/poly blends. I posted a question about it on the discussion board for the sheet swap, and was quickly reassured by the more seasoned quilters in the group that the fabrics worked wonderfully. In fact, as one member pointed out, the presence of the synthetic fibre is the reason that the patterns have remained so vibrant after so many years of washing.

So far I have found nine really great sheets, but I love a few of them so much that I am nervous about actually cutting into them! I just have to keep reminding myself that by sharing what I’ve found, I’ll have a really fabulous collection in no time.

Sheet Swap Mosaic

1. Olive and Blue Floral, 2. Two Blue, 3. Daisies on Blue, 4. Purple on White, 5. Blue, White and Purple Flowers, 6. Blue and Green Floral, 7. Red Plaid, 8. Bright Floral, 9. Pink Stripes

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 25, 2010 9:27 PM

    I love your sheets! I can understand why you aren’t ready to cut into them yet. It seriously took me over 3 years to “rip” my first one. But once I did- now I can’t stop! There are a few that I haven’t ripped- they are ones I imagine I might use for quilt backs some day. The daisies on floral and the purple on white are so sweet! You can do it! I just sent mine off and can’t wait to see what comes back. Thanks for coming by Dear Spring Green, it is nice to get a comment from someone other than family once in a while :) !

  2. May 31, 2010 3:56 AM

    What a great selection! I am particularly fond of the ones with “watercolor” effect in the design, where there isn’t any sharp edges to the drawings. I have made some smaller quilts from vintage sheets, to be used on the table. Please take a look if you want… (tag: vintage sheets)
    ; )

I'd love to hear from you, so please share your thoughts! I try to respond whenever I can, but I don't always have chance. But I read each and every one!

