Skip to content

Stockinette

October 31, 2012

So tomorrow is November.  Which means that Christmas is dangerously close.  Dangerous because I have a few projects that I’d like to make as gifts and I’m not sure that I have enough time, and also because there are a few people (brother…father…) that are super difficult to buy / make for.  I started an ideas list earlier today, and there are some people for whom I have enough ideas to last me 5 years of Christmases and birthdays.  But the men?  Eeesh.

There are also a few projects that I’d like to make for myself.  You know, the decorating kind.  I’d love to make a tree skirt, and a throw quilt for the sofa, and a few other bits and bobs.  But if I’m being perfectly honest the things for me will likely have to wait for another year, since I have so many other things in the queue at the moment.  Oh well!  Next year!

One thing I DID get done (because I had a deadline in September…), was make a stocking!

Stockinette

The last week in August the team at Fat Quarterly tweeted that they needed some people to participate in the Designer Challenge for the Christmas 2012 issue, and I decided to throw my hat in the ring.  I had never submitted anything to a publication before, but I’d been thinking about trying, so this seemed like a great place to start.

Tinsel

The fabric we were to work with is the line “Tinsel” by Maude Asbury for Blend Fabrics.  Isn’t it cute?  (I don’t currently have much use for cute Christmas fabric, but if I did I would be buying lots of those mittens.  I love them!)  And the only instructions were to design a stocking.

I must admit that my preference is for knitted stockings, perhaps because that’s what I grew up with, and so I wanted to design a stocking that riffed on that idea while still being a pieced fabric project.  So I drew a couple of ideas out and finally settled on a design.  It’s supposed to look like knitted stockinette stitches, hence the name.

I’m really pleased with how my project turned out, and I’m already working on a few other ideas to go with it.  I figure I need at least two stockings in this house, one for me and one for Stella!

FQ11

If you want to make a stocking using my pattern then go get a copy of the latest Fat Quarterly issue (Issue 11).  Along with my project, there are some other fabulous stocking projects, some really gorgeous quilts, and even a tree skirt, just to name a few!  (Who knows, I might even manage to get a bit further on my list this fall…)

And if you DO end up making my stocking then I’d love to see it, so be sure to add a photo to the Fat Quarterly Flickr group, as well as the thought & found Flickr group.

How about you, what’s on your homemade gifts project list this season?  And do you have any gift ideas for a 26-year-old?!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 31, 2012 8:50 PM

    Adorable!!! Love the chevron pattern!
    I’m going to make cloth napkin sets for my girls teachers this year. I like to make clutches or makeup bags for my girlfriends (Vanessa from LBG studio has a great zippered clutch pattern).
    I have no ideas for guys, they are so hard to sew for!

  2. Holly permalink
    November 11, 2012 1:21 PM

    Great blend of knitting and quilting, Sheila! I’m having the same dilemma, I love knitted stockings (especially since they stretch to accommodate bulky objects) but am totally into quilting. I’m thinking of doing a hybrid with a pieced front and knitted back. Congrats on being in FQ!

  3. January 16, 2013 1:18 PM

    very lovely stocking. I am also partial to knit stockings. they stretch to accomodate what ever needs to be put inside.

I'd love to hear from you, so please share your thoughts! I try to respond whenever I can, but I don't always have chance. But I read each and every one!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 250 other followers

