Skip to content

doing. Good

August 16, 2012

One of the things I really admire about the sewing community, whether online or elsewhere, is the willingness of its members to lend a hand.  For years (actually, centuries would be a fair statement), sewers and knitters have provided blankets and hats and mitts to the charities in their community.  A few years ago, when I first found Flickr and all the crafty people who used it, I loved how willing perfect strangers were to sew up a few blocks and ship them off to someone who was making a quilt for a friend who need support.

In the summer of 2010, Rachel at Stitched in Color started a new virtual quilting bee called do. Good Stitches with the goal of making quilts for people in need, and it didn’t take long for the group to grow quite large.  At the moment there are 21 different groups involved, for a total of 210 people willing to chip in.  I’ve been wanting to get involved for quite awhile, and finally filled out the wait-list form a few months back…April, I think?

I was thrilled when I finally heard that a new circle was being put together, made up of mostly Canadians in order to keep shipping costs low, and that I was invited to join in!  Our host is the lovely Marika who blogs at Live, Laugh, Love… Sew, and she decided to call our new circle Happiness.  (You can follow that link to our Flickr group to see what we’re up to each month.)

For our first month, Marika is in charge of the quilt we make, and she’s asked us to make wonky bento box blocks using raspberry, aqua, lime and solid grey.  Despite the embarrassingly large size of my stash, I actually didn’t have much in the raspberry or lime department.  I guess I need to go shopping. ;)

do. Good

I had tons of fun making these blocks, and I love the way they turned out.  I can’t wait to see how the finished quilt turns out.  I’m sure it will be spectacular!

If you’re interested in getting involved, then head over to the Flickr group to read the rules, and fill out the wait-list form.  And be sure to check out some of the finished quilts that the various circles have made over the last two years!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 16, 2012 6:03 PM

    gorgeous blocks! This is going to be a really lovely quilt :-D

  2. August 16, 2012 6:20 PM

    I *love* those blocks!

  3. August 16, 2012 7:58 PM

    I really like those blocks

Trackbacks

  1. Vintage Charms « thought & found

I'd love to hear from you, so please share your thoughts! I try to respond whenever I can, but I don't always have chance. But I read each and every one!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 239 other followers

