Skip to content

Playing With Stripes

May 14, 2012

A few weeks ago I learned that an old childhood friend had given birth to a baby boy, her first. And when I got an invite to the shower I knew that I had to make little Kiran something special. I tossed around some ideas for a few days, but nothing seemed right. Then I stumbled on this new quilt design by Cluck Cluck Sew, called “Pow-Wow.” And THAT reminded me of this Lauren Moffat fabric that I’ve been kind of obsessed with, as well as these stamps, which I pinned last fall, and which, it turns out, inspired Allison’s quilt, too!

Suddenly I had an idea that I really wanted to run with, so I pulled out a pile of vintage stripes from my stash and got to work.

Playing with some vintage stripes this afternoon Progress on those vintage stripes...

Once I’d sewn up a bunch of chevrons, I strayed from the original plan for a minute. I thought they looked like the feathers on an arrow, so I played around with that, but ultimately decided that perhaps the new parents might not like weapon imagery…

I also really liked the idea of a colour wheel, but I’ve never pieced curves before, and thought that doing so for the first time on a last-minute gift might be asking for trouble. I think I’ll revisit it in future, though, because I love the way the mock-up looks! I just need to tackle a few test curves first. When I figured it out I’ll let you know!

Another option...

Finally, I went forward with my original plan, and I’m pretty pleased with how it turned out!

Vintage Chevrons baby quilt

Vintage Chevrons baby quilt

Vintage Chevrons baby quilt

Vintage Chevrons baby quilt

Vintage Chevrons baby quilt

The back...

I have no idea what the grey is, since it’s been in my stash a LONG time, but it’s close to Kona Coal.  The backing fabric (unfortunately I only got the one crappy picture of it) is an Ikea print from 2007.  I thought it matched the vintage sheets quite well!  The binding fabric is a Cranston VIP print. And I’ve got lots of vintage stripes in the shop, if you want some. ;)  I’m hoping to put some bundles together this week for anyone who’s interested, so stay tuned!

13 Comments leave one →
  1. May 14, 2012 6:35 PM

    Wow! This is truly stunning! Love the stripes and little arrows. Beautiful!

  2. May 14, 2012 8:04 PM

    I really love how you did this with the stripes, its a really pretty look!

  3. May 14, 2012 11:39 PM

    These look AWESOME!!! so cool.

  4. May 15, 2012 2:01 AM

    Looks fantastic!!!!

  5. May 15, 2012 7:59 AM

    Wow I love it, I wish I could find more variety of stripes and/or shipping to the UK wasn’t so expensive!

  6. Beth Carver permalink
    May 15, 2012 11:05 AM

    Love your chevron quilt! Does Allison give some tips in her pattern to get those stripes to match up? I’ve been considering buying her pattern. Suggestions would be appreciated!
    Thanks, Beth in aL

    • May 15, 2012 11:42 AM

      Thanks you! I can’t actually speak to Allison’s pattern, since I didn’t use it, I was only inspired by it. But Amanda used it and wrote favourable about it here. However, based on the pictures, Allison’s block is constructed a bit differently from mine, so it wouldn’t produce the same effect with the stripes. Perhaps if there’s interest I’ll write up a quick tutorial about how I made my blocks. :)

      • Beth Carver permalink
        May 15, 2012 11:51 AM

        Yes…a tutorial would be greatly appreciated! I would love some tips on getting those stripes to match up diagonally – I know there are some specialty rulers out there also. Inquiring minds want to know. Bet your friend will LOVE this baby quilt.

        Beth

  7. May 15, 2012 5:00 PM

    Oh, I can so relate to really wanting to change plans last minute! The original plan looks fantastic!

  8. Lara permalink
    May 25, 2012 2:42 AM

    I would LOVE a tutorial – I have some great stripes in my stash that I would love to turn into this!

  9. May 26, 2012 3:16 PM

    Oh love the use of those stripes! Sure the new parents love it!

  10. June 5, 2012 5:47 PM

    This quilt is amazing! I just made a pow wow quilt for a baby boy and love it. I think I need to make one like yours for me. ;)

Trackbacks

  1. Cutting Stripes On The Bias « thought & found

I'd love to hear from you, so please share your thoughts! I try to respond whenever I can, but I don't always have chance. But I read each and every one!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 249 other followers

