Skip to content

Exploding Star

February 21, 2012

We’ve reached the end!  Woohoo!  One final option and then we can get to work piecing together the top.

I was really pushing to have this posted last Friday, before the long weekend, and since I was driving north to my parents for a few days with my brother and sister-in-law, I couldn’t just leave when it was finished.  I had a deadline.  Now, the room with the best natural sunlight is two stories down from where my machine is, so I was running up and down the stairs trying to get it finished.  Stella was also running up and down the stairs, wondering what all the fuss was about and trying to trip me with each flight.  Who knew that quilting could be such an extreme sport?!  Well, I came really close to having it finished, but right before the “finish it up” step I really did have to go.  I threw all the pieces in a box and today I hauled out my mum’s machine to finish it up.  (I’m so jealous of her machine and can’t believe she doesn’t use it more often!)

Just like the last few blocks, this one is a serious scrap-buster.  And while there are lots of pieces, it’s very straight-forward.  The centre is essentially just a Courthouse Steps block, but we’re going to throw some striped star points onto it.

Exploding Star Tutorial

Starting with the centre 2″ square, work your way out, adding two strips to opposite sides with each step.  I cut my strips longer then necessary so that I could square up after each step, ensuring the accuracy of the block.

Exploding Star Tutorial

Exploding Star Tutorial

Exploding Star Tutorial

Exploding Star Tutorial

Exploding Star Tutorial

Exploding Star Tutorial

Exploding Star Tutorial

When the centre is finished it should be 6-1/2″ square.  If you are worried about the accuracy of your 1/4″ seam allowances, you could cut the final two steps of the block a bit wide (maybe 2″ instead?) and then trim down the centre when you’re finished.

Next we need to piece the star points.  Again, I cut the pieces longer than necessary so that I had the freedom to square things up later.  Sew the strips to each other in the order you’d like, ensuring that you have four (4) left-leaning blocks and four (4) right-leaning blocks.

Exploding Star Tutorial

Exploding Star Tutorial

Exploding Star Tutorial

Exploding Star Tutorial

Then trim the two sides with make the right-angle to 3-7/8″ (2-7/8″ | 1-7/8″) in length, and cut from corner to corner to create a triangle.

Exploding Star Tutorial

When you’ve sewn the striped triangles to the QSTs cut from the large square of background fabric (such as with the Plaid Star), you should have four (4) flying geese which are 6-1/2″ x 3-1/2″ each.

Exploding Star Tutorial

Now sew everything together (a 3-hour car ride is NOT necessary for this step to be successful…) and guess what?  You’ve completed your final star variation!

Exploding Star Tutorial

Now then, I think we all need a bit of time to get all our stars completed (I have a pile of 4-inch stars that need finishing up!), so how’s about we meet back later next week for a strategy for putting all these lovelies together?  Sound like a plan?  As always, let me know if you have any questions.

Oh My Stars! (A Quilt-Along)


17 Comments leave one →
  1. February 21, 2012 3:13 PM

    I have a question…how on earth am I going to get these stars made?!!
    I’m slowly getting them made but not sure I’ll be making a top out of it for a good few weeks! Anyway I love the look of this one but must finish off these 2 I’m in the middle of!

  2. February 21, 2012 3:21 PM

    Wow, this one is my favorite – I don’t know if I will make enough squares for a whole quilt, but I’m going to try some & start with this one!

  3. February 21, 2012 3:43 PM

    That’s stunning! Wish I had time to join in, but very much enjoying watching!

  4. Heather permalink
    February 21, 2012 5:15 PM

    Can’t wait to start ths one!! It lookI amazing. Then I have lots of 4″ to start :)

  5. Cecillia permalink
    February 21, 2012 9:03 PM

    So pretty! Love all your block tutorials and hope to start working on some soon! :)

  6. kimr permalink
    February 21, 2012 9:16 PM

    Wow, wow, wow–I LOVE this one! Great stars! I really need to get to work on mine..I have so many projects started that I am not getting anything done! I am going to work on this…love it!

  7. teresa g permalink
    February 21, 2012 10:57 PM

    I really like this block. But I am sorry to see this QAL coming to an end. I know I started way late in the process (about 3 weeks ago) and I am only on the second block, but I am really excited about getting them all done.

  8. February 22, 2012 1:15 AM

    Finished would be good…or started. I swear that it is world conspiracy to keep me out of the sewing room. But, I am so going to make this quilt. SOON!

  9. February 22, 2012 12:44 PM

    I love this star – I’m not sure it will work with my fabrics though *sad face*. I will try! I am nearly up to date on 12″ and 8″ blocks but let’s not talk about 4″ blocks. I’ll try and be there with you later next week – no rush though if it rolls over by another week :) Thank you so much for all these beautiful and wonderfully clear tutorials.

  10. February 22, 2012 10:15 PM

    This one is my favorite block in the way it looks. I am still on block 4 however and I know I must get a move on it I wish to see a pretty finished top anytime soon. I am LOVING this quilt along…..wonderful for my first one even though I am not a quick sewing nor do I have a ton of time. So glad I joined in and can’t wait to get caught up!!! Thanks!!!

  11. Marty Askins permalink
    March 3, 2012 7:52 AM

    Have you posted the finishing instructions on “Oh! My Stars Quilt Along” yet?

  12. Pam permalink
    March 6, 2012 4:24 PM

    I’m sorry but I see all the instructions for the blocks and the outline drawing for the overall project but, did I miss the instructions on how to piece it all together?? Thxs.

  13. April 5, 2012 12:57 PM

    I just came over here from sewing summit flickr group, and realized, I love this blog! I used one of your star tutorials for a bee block. I’m looking for a roomie too =)

  14. June 29, 2012 1:13 PM

    You have a very nice blog and great tutorials. Thanks for sharing! Denby

  15. Martha permalink
    February 1, 2013 9:06 AM

    I don’t understand why there are 3 measurements for each piece – explain please!

  16. April 22, 2013 9:52 AM

    so pretty !

  17. July 5, 2013 10:33 AM

    Could you please tell me what the different measurements are for? Is it lengths or widths of the strips? Thank you. :)

I'd love to hear from you, so please share your thoughts! I try to respond whenever I can, but I don't always have chance. But I read each and every one!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 250 other followers

