Skip to content

Checkerboard Star

February 10, 2012

My supreme apologies for my disappearance this week.  I had an unexpected opportunity to visit my sister, something that we had been trying to make work for ages, so I jumped at the chance.  We spent our days chatting, walking the pups, eating yummy food (Rachel is a great cook…I keep trying to get her start up a food blog) and generally enjoying each other’s company.  I wish we weren’t four hours apart!

But I’m back, and I have the first of this week’s tutorials ready to go.  The other will come later today.

Now, you may be coming down to just scraps of the fabrics you picked for this project, so the remaining four stars are designed to accommodate that possibility.  While I decided to make this star using strips of fabric, you could just as easily cut squares from your scraps and achieve the same effect.  Similarly, while I used only two fabrics in my star, you could use scraps of warm and cool fabrics, or light and dark fabrics…you get the idea!

Checkerboard Star Tutorial

Begin by sewing the two strips of fabric together along the long dimension, and then press. (Now you might notice that my strips aren’t a precise 15-3/4″ long.  That’s because I wanted to try to avoid the green flower centres since I found them a bit visually distracting in an earlier block.  So I left myself a little room to fussy-cut the pairs.)

Checkerboard Star Tutorial

Checkerboard Star Tutorial

Next, cut six (6) sets of paired fabrics 2-5/8″ wide (2″ and 1-1/4″ for the other two sizes).

Checkerboard Star Tutorial

Now we will start to assemble the sub-units for the star.  The very centre of the star is made of two of the pairs sewn together:

Checkerboard Star Tutorial

Checkerboard Star Tutorial

Next, we’ll move on to the star points.  Take the 3″ squares and cut them in half diagonally to create eight (8) half-square triangles (HSTs).  Now take two (2) HSTs from each fabric and sew them to the 3-1/2″ squares of background fabric.

Checkerboard Star Tutorial

Press and then repeat with the remaining four (4) HSTs, making sure that each square of background fabric has an HST of both fabrics sewn to it – two (2) with fabric #1 on the right, and two (2) with fabric #1 on the left.

Checkerboard Star Tutorial

Checkerboard Star Tutorial

Trim up the little “envelopes” to 4-3/4″ wide (3-3/8″ | 1-7/8″).  Now attach the remaining six (6) fabric pairs that you created earlier in the process to each of the star points units.

Checkerboard Star Tutorial

Checkerboard Star Tutorial

At this point it would be helpful to lay everything out to make sure that you have everything in the right place to create the checkerboard effect.

Checkerboard Star Tutorial

Assemble the star in three rows, as we did with the Woven Star and the Radiant Star.  (The large triangles of background fabric are QSTs cut from the 7-3/8″ | 5-3/8″ | 3-1/4″ square.)

Checkerboard Star Tutorial

Checkerboard Star Tutorial

Now put the three rows together and voila!  I’m really excited to see how everyone interprets this block!

Checkerboard Star Tutorial

I’ll be back in a bit. ;)

Oh My Stars! (A Quilt-Along)

 

5 Comments leave one →
  1. February 11, 2012 11:41 AM

    It sounds like you had a wonderful time with your sister. Glad everything is ok and good to have you back. I love the new star. Also, thank you for the break – I’m still not caught up!

  2. Amy permalink
    February 11, 2012 12:12 PM

    That’s the coolest looking star ever!!! I can’t wait to try it!

  3. February 11, 2012 12:29 PM

    I like this one! Is the “quickest yet?!!
    Thanks for the designs..
    Don’t worry about being away, life takes us on unexpected, yet wonderful journeys!
    Take care, Leslie

  4. February 11, 2012 1:05 PM

    Glad you’re ok and had a great time with your sister. I’ve been killing time making other things and avoiding making 4′ blocks!

  5. Bonny permalink
    June 24, 2012 10:38 PM

    I love this blog page. Thank you for sharing. I am looking at using this star in a bed scarf that I am making with patriotic colors. What is the finish size of the star. I could not find it in reading your instructions.

I'd love to hear from you, so please share your thoughts! I try to respond whenever I can, but I don't always have chance. But I read each and every one!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 249 other followers

