Skip to content

Quattro Stagioni Star

January 31, 2012

A few years ago I spent a term studying in Rome.  It was a fabulous experience, filled with art and architecture…and food.  Lots of yummy food.  Thankfully I walked everywhere or I would have put on some serious pounds.  To be honest, I didn’t eat that much pizza, since there were so many other things to try, but when I did I often ordered the quattro stagioni, or “four seasons.”  Why settle for one pizza when you can sample four, right?!  When I was playing around with this block today I kept thinking about Rome and the pizza…and the cheese, and the bread, and the gelati, and the espresso, and the suppli, and the cheap wine…suffice it to say that Southern Ontario was feeling a little mundane.

This block is essentially just a basic star with a four-patch centre, but some careful attention to the fabric placement produces a star which appears divided into quadrants.  So pick four different fabrics and then cut the pieces according to the following sizes:

Quattro Stagioni Star Tutorial

The star points are created using the same method as in the basic star, but be sure that you begin with two fabrics that you wish to have opposite one another in the final star.

Quattro Stagioni Star Tutorial

Then add the other two fabrics to complete the flying geese.

Quattro Stagioni Star Tutorial

When you press and square up the four flying geese, you should end up with four geese that each have a different combination of your four fabrics.

Quattro Stagioni Star Tutorial

Next, lay out your 3-1/2″  squares of foreground fabric in a grid that will work with the star points that you’ve created.  It helps to do this step second just in case you don’t end up with the fabrics in the locations you expected in the star points.

Quattro Stagioni Star Tutorial

When you sew up the four-patch and press it, it should square up at 6-1/2″.

Quattro Stagioni Star Tutorial

Attach all the parts according to the process used for the basic star, and you’ll have a lovely, yummy, star!

Quattro Stagioni Star Tutorial

And I think I’ll be making pizza for dinner tonight…

Oh My Stars! (A Quilt-Along)

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 2, 2012 2:07 PM

    Ah I like! Think I might have time to make one this evening! thanks again!

  2. February 12, 2012 2:34 AM

    Love this block and it is my favourite pizza too:)

  3. June 25, 2012 12:09 AM

    Wow! I love your flying geese technique! I’ve bookmarked it so that I can come back to it when I need it :)

  4. Val permalink
    September 26, 2012 10:53 AM

    I must try this. Thanks for the lesson!

I'd love to hear from you, so please share your thoughts! I try to respond whenever I can, but I don't always have chance. But I read each and every one!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 238 other followers

