Skip to content

Nested Star

January 26, 2012

To be honest, I really wanted to call this block “Kapow Star,” or something like that, because it kinda reminds me of the stars in vintage Batman fight scenes.  But perhaps the rest of you didn’t spend as many afternoons watching it as I did… :)

Basically, this is a sawtooth star within a sawtooth star, so there aren’t really any new construction techniques here.  Just many more pieces!  The top row in the diagram represents the outer (larger) star points, while the lower row represents the inner star:

Nested Star Tutorial

Since we’ve done all this before, I’ll just direct you to the Basic Sawtooth Star tutorial for the order of operations.  I found it was most effiecient to work on both sets of points at the same time.  In the larger set the “geese” in the flying geese units are the background fabric, while in the smaller set the “geese” are the foreground fabric.

Nested Star Tutorial

Nested Star Tutorial

Nested Star Tutorial

When you’ve finished up the flying geese units, and squared them up to 3-1/2″ x 6-1/2″ (larger) and 2″ x 3-1/2″ (smaller), put together the inner star first.

Nested Star Tutorial

Square up the inner star to 6-1/2″, and then put together the outer star.

Nested Star Tutorial

ZONK!  KAPOW!

Oh My Stars! (A Quilt-Along)

 

6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 27, 2012 2:58 AM

    Oh I do Love this one but alas, I am jumping back to the Frosted tip Star right now in a hope to catch up this weekend :o)

  2. January 27, 2012 9:48 AM

    Love this one! And I’ll be able to use some of the smaller pieces I had left from cutting other pieces so far!

  3. carol T permalink
    January 27, 2012 6:05 PM

    I love this block.

  4. Heather permalink
    February 1, 2012 2:30 PM

    I love this Quilt-a-long, as I have found myself trying stars I would never have thought to make. I am also participating in a Block-a-Day Challenge over on Quilt Addicts Anonymous and won the January prize, just by loading my stars into the Challenges Flicker. Not sure if anyone else would be interested in joining her challenge, but figured I would mention it since we all are creating all of the stars for this quilt-a-long.

    Here is the website: http://quiltaddictsanonymous.com

  5. February 1, 2012 4:54 PM

    Cute cute cute! Love the name ‘Kapow Star’ SUPER AWESOME!

  6. January 20, 2013 4:32 AM

    Seeing this one I for sure got an fantastic idea – I have to make a quilt 196 cm ( or 77″x77″)star – starting with a tiny-tyny small one 1,5 cm, the next 3, and 6 and further to 196 cm. In Norway as in many cultures and countries, this star is an important figure like in Hardanger Embrodery. We call the figure, directly translated to be an “eight bladed rose” – and for sure – I would have to make eight of them!
    At least 8 times thanks!

    Found you through http://maylifeonline.blogspot.no/ to http://quilttales.blogspot.no/
    to http://maylifeonline.blogspot.no/

I'd love to hear from you, so please share your thoughts! I try to respond whenever I can, but I don't always have chance. But I read each and every one!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 239 other followers

