Skip to content

Ugly Quilt, Ugly Quilt…

January 19, 2012

…why is she sewing you?  (Sung to the tune of “Smelly Cat.”)

Ok, so it’s late, and I’m getting punchy.  What can I say, it happens sometimes.  And I’ve been feeling a bit off all day.  The kind of “off” that’s subtle and hard to put your finger on.  Headache?  Not really…  Stomach ache?  Kinda…  Congested?  No…  Hopefully a good night’s sleep will cure me.

I was hoping to have the next tutorial for the QAL posted today, but it took me a while to figure out the most efficient way to cut and sew the block so that it would work for everyone.  Lots of head-scratching and self-doubt.  And so I ended up spending the day working on my ugly quilt.

Let me explain.  I’m a bit paranoid about cutting into fabrics I love until I’m sure that I know what I’m doing.  So I have a pile of fabric that I don’t care about that I use for test-runs.  They are mostly polyester or polyester-blends, or things that have stains and marks like an old pair of curtains that lived with my brother for a while in university and returned a slightly different colour…  Actually, none of them are all that bad on their own, but nor did I intentionally pull them from my stash to make a lovely quilt.  The prints land where they land as I’m trying things out, and then I throw all the sewn parts into a box.  I rarely complete a block (although I did today), since I’m usually just working out the dimensions for a particular component.

Ugly Quilt
Ugly Quilt

One day I’ll sew them all together for a really scrappy, kinda ugly but probably kinda cool, throw quilt or something.  And I’ll probably test out some free motion quilting patterns on it. ;)

So…would you like a sneak peak at the next block?  Here it is, in all it’s Ugly Quilt glory:

Ugly Quilt

I’ll be back tomorrow to show you how to put it together.  In different fabrics!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. January 20, 2012 2:35 AM

    that is really really ugly!! ha!

  2. January 20, 2012 6:37 AM

    LOL!! I love the pattern, but I do agree … those fabrics REALLY don’t go together!!! Though, now that I think about it, if you just swapped out the green print and the red fabrics with something else it would probably look alright!! … I really do love that star though … looking forward to seeing your ‘real’ one … and the pattern that comes with it! It would make a really nice quilt … with the right fabrics, lol!!

  3. January 20, 2012 6:42 AM

    I really like your ugly block…I’ve seen much worse. An entire quilt with these fabrics would be a prize winner! Honorable mention? Best in show? Well, lets not get carried away! LOL

  4. January 20, 2012 7:29 AM

    I love the pattern. I love stars.

  5. January 20, 2012 8:29 AM

    wonderful block – the yellow is a bit disturbing!

  6. January 20, 2012 8:56 AM

    Love that block and funny about the stack- I have a stack of ugly fabric too! Can’t waste good designer fabric on a test run!

  7. January 20, 2012 3:12 PM

    that is a fantastic pattern, can’t wait until you release the turorial.
    as far as the fabrics go…hey, there’s a place in the world for everything pretty or ugly!

Trackbacks

  1. Woven Star « thought & found

I'd love to hear from you, so please share your thoughts! I try to respond whenever I can, but I don't always have chance. But I read each and every one!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 239 other followers

