Skip to content

The Plan…Part Deux

January 6, 2012

As promised, the first month-ish of this quilt-along has been leisurely for most of us.  Pay no attention to Cassie…she’s clearly a speed freak. ;)

But, now that the overeating is firmly positioned on our waistlines, it’s time to get down to business.  (Ok, and maybe to the gym.)  So far we’ve had 3 tutorials out of 15, so we’ve got 12 left.  And since I don’t think any of us want this to drag on into 2013, I’m going to step up the pace to two tutorials a week.  Please don’t get discouraged if you can’t keep up with that pace.  I want to provide the information up front so that everyone can work at their own pace, rather than holding back the people who are ready for the next step.  Hopefully the people who are a bit ahead will stick around to support the people who move a bit more slowly.  That’s the point of a quilt-along. right?!

So here’s the plan going forward:

January 10 – Star Variation Four
January 12 – Star Variation Five
January 17 – Star Variation Six
January 19 – Star Variation Seven
January 24 – Star Variation Eight
January 26 – Star Variation Nine
January 31 – Star Variation Ten
February 02 – Star Variation Eleven
February 07 – Star Variation Twelve
February 09 – Star Variation Thirteen
February 14 – Star Variation Fourteen
February 16 – Star Variation Fifteen
February 20 (Week Of) – Quilt Top Assembly

At that point I’ll evaluate everyone’s progress to determine when to wrap things up.  My impulse is to say that the link-up post will open on the week of March 5, but we’ll see how it goes.  I want to give people chance to get things quilted and bound, and since that’s always a major “UFO abyss” point for me, I know that people might need a bit of time.

Also, I am loving all the work I’m seeing so far in the Flickr group.  You people rock!  It’s so interesting to see how the same designs play out in different colour combinations, isn’t it?  And, as always, click on the badge to find links to all the posts thus far.  See you next week!

Oh My Stars! (A Quilt-Along)
8 Comments leave one →
  1. January 7, 2012 10:00 AM

    OK. Time to get serious. I have most of my fabric together and need to get a few more projects out of the way then, WATCH OUT! Looking forward to more and more fun.

  2. AngieSue2 permalink
    January 7, 2012 10:27 AM

    I’d love opinions on this…. I had intended to do a cheerful quilt using only the plain sawtooth star and bright colors (reds, blues, yellows, greens, oranges from Kaufmans’ Treasures and Tidbits line). BUT… I love the new variations stars. My concern is this — if I make all the variation stars using all these bright colors am I going to have a circus-mess of a quilt when I’m done??? I am BAD with colors — and recently had to just put away a half-finished quilt when the colors I chose looked awful together.

    So — I have a couple of options: 1) plain sawtooth with bright, cheerful colors, 2) use bright reds and whites (I have lots of red scraps) only, but use all the star variations, 3) risk a mess by making different stars with all the original bright, contrasting colors. Anyone? help!

    • January 7, 2012 12:08 PM

      Angie: Someone posted a similar question (click here) over on the flickr group, and there’s a bit of a discussion going on, so I’m going to direct you there to join in! Also, you’ve made me think that a post about fabric selection might be a good idea so perhaps I’ll write one up in the next day or so.

      But the best advice I can give is that you should trust your gut. Judging from your question, I’m guessing that means either option one or two. :)

  3. January 7, 2012 2:13 PM

    Wow – That’s REALLY stepping it up! Not sure I’ll be able to keep up and, often when that happens, I fall so far behind that it becomes another UFO in a bin. One a week may be manageable but two? I dunno. I suppose, so long as the instructions aren’t deleted after a time, I can always try to plug along. The only thing is, when you fall behind all the rest, you really don’t feel a part of the group.

  4. January 8, 2012 1:55 PM

    This is such a pretty quilt. Ack!! Another quilt a long that I want to do!!!!!

  5. January 16, 2012 4:08 AM

    I cannot locate the first three tutorials, is it possible to get them added to the above list of links, so they are all on one page? Thanks.

    • January 16, 2012 10:37 AM

      Ann Marie: If you click on the “Oh My Stars!” logo in any of the individual posts or on my sidebar (or on anyone else’s blog, for that matter), you’ll be taken to a dedicated page about the quilt-along. There you’ll find links to all the tutorials so far, as well as any other pertinent information.

  6. Michaelann permalink
    March 21, 2012 9:08 AM

    I was trying to locate the finishing directions for the Oh, My Stars quilt top and can’t seem to locate them. Where can I find them. I just love this quilt!

I'd love to hear from you, so please share your thoughts! I try to respond whenever I can, but I don't always have chance. But I read each and every one!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 248 other followers

