Skip to content

The Plan

December 2, 2011

*** This post has been edited to add an extra layout for making a full/queen version of the quilt. ***

So it seems that in my hurry to finish up my last post after the whole “publish-versus-preview” debacle, I forgot to mention one small thing.  The plan!  (Eeeps.)

Since there are 15 of the largest stars, my intention is to provide 15 tutorials so that there is no need to duplicate any of those.  Then you can decide how many you want to make in the other two sizes.  If you split it evenly then it will end up in the neighbourhood of two (2) each for the 8″ stars, and five (5) each for the 4″ stars.  Of course this is just a suggestion…I’m actually hoping that everyone interprets things a bit differently!  But if you’re the sort of person that wants clear directions, then your assignment for this week is to make one (1) 12″ star, two (2) 8″ stars and five (5) 4″ stars using yesterday’s tutorial.

As for a schedule, since I promised “slow” through the holidays, I’ll post at least two more blocks before Christmas (maybe three if things don’t get too crazy), and then we can reevalute the speed once the wrapping paper settles, so to speak.  The next tutorial is scheduled for next Wednesday.

I’ve also added a second layout for people wishing to make a full/queen-sized quilt.  (Though for the sake of the quilt-along, we’ll be working from the throw/twin layout.)  So let’s have a quick recap:

The smaller size will be 60″ x 84″ without borders, or 68″ x 92″ with them, and requires the following number of each star size:

Sawtooth Star Tutorial

The larger size will be 80″ x 84″ without borders, or 88″ x 92″ with them, and requires the following number of each star size:

Q star count

Finally, I worked up blank versions of the overall quilt designs so that you can plan things a bit, should you so desire.  You can use it for planning your fabric layout, for planning where you want various blocks to land, or for tracking your progress.  I hope you find it useful!  (If you click either of the layout images above you’ll find a downloadable PDF with the diagrams.)

Hopefully I’ve cleared up a few questions!

Oh My Stars! (A Quilt-Along)
9 Comments leave one →
  1. December 2, 2011 7:35 PM

    This post would have been in answer to my comment me thinks… Thanks a bunch… Im one of those uncreative types that needs things spelt out in crayon so I can understand it or I get lost and left behind… Thank you… One day I’m sure I’ll have enough courage to strike out on my own and add my own *PAZAZ* to a quilt… but for now, I think I’m ok with being a copie cat… Toodles!

    P.S I cant wait to start!

  2. December 3, 2011 9:24 AM

    thank you for the schedule, this is what we needed to know. But, um, “slow”? That’s 24 blocks befor Christmas, which would be fine in, say, January, but not now! The Flickr posts will be pretty ragged for awhile, I’m afraid. Especially since we don’t all have our fabrics yet.

    • December 3, 2011 2:18 PM

      Oh goodness, my intention is not that you actually make 24 blocks in the next 3 weeks! I was just trying to lay out a plan of attack for those people who want specific guidelines. A way to divide up the blocks between the different star variations. I certainly won’t get that many blocks sewn before Christmas! Just aim for the 12″ versions, and as many in the other sizes as you think work for you. OK?

  3. December 4, 2011 7:39 PM

    Thanks for the print out! I hadn’t thought it, but it will be very useful, especially since I’m not decided on how the fabrics I have should go together and whether they need more friends so to speak.
    I’m so excited for 15 star variations!

  4. Sherron permalink
    December 4, 2011 11:58 PM

    I am still mulling over what fabrics to use. I can’t decide if I should go for a red/black/grey pallet or do something more earth toned. Either way, I’ll have to wait until January to begin. I am so excited though! Thank you for all of the work you are putting in for this quilt along!

  5. December 5, 2011 5:54 PM

    Thanks for the first star. I have made mine and have posted them to flickr and am looking forward to the next one … roll on Wednesday :o)

  6. December 6, 2011 6:50 PM

    Just wanted to say THANK-YOU for all the work you are (and will be) putting in for this quilt along. These quilts will all turn out amazing because of your creativity and careful planning. SO EXCITED to be in this group! Can’t wait to see everyone’s work come together! :0)

  7. December 8, 2011 2:41 AM

    I love your enthusiasm, I love your take on design and I love the designs of the quilts. I’m a FAN! .

Trackbacks

  1. Constructing The Top « thought & found

I'd love to hear from you, so please share your thoughts! I try to respond whenever I can, but I don't always have chance. But I read each and every one!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 238 other followers

