Skip to content

What I Did On My Summer Vacation

September 22, 2011

Wow.  Ok, so I know that it’s such a blogger cliché, and that it drives people crazy, but…I can’t believe I haven’t posted since May!  It’s been a busy summer, and while I’ve taken tons of pictures (evidence: I just dumped 98 new photos into my photostream), I haven’t actually managed to upload anything to Flickr or blog about my comings and goings in months.  But I HAVE been creating, so I’ve got lots to share.  In the next few days I’m going to try to write a series of posts about some of the highlights, so stay tuned.

So what have I been up to?  Well, I’ve managed to finish up a few WIPs that have been hanging around a tad too long, I helped my brother and new sister-in-law move into their first home, I spent quite a bit of time helping my maternal grandmother get settled into the home she moved into last winter (her sewing room had never been properly set up, nor had all her artwork been hung), I’ve been plugging away at the thesis (slowly…), I’ve put up about a zillion jars of peaches, I took a class on pattern design and block printing from the always extraordinary Lizzy House (I’ll be posting more about that soon), and last but certainly not least, I spent some perfect days at Bekanon.  A pretty good summer, all in all.

All that said, I’m glad, as I usually am at this time of year, that things are settling back into a more normal routine.  I love the summer, but I really do believe that it’s made sweeter due to its fleeting nature.  (And yes, that IS the classic rationalisation of a snow-bound Canadian, but I stand by it!)

I’ll be back later with my first catch-up post, but for now I’ll leave you with a photo of a project my Nana just recently finished:

Houses.

This is the quilt that she made for my brother Philip and new sister-in-law Caroline for their wedding, which was back in May.  She’s 84 years old, and she hand-quilted the whole, queen-sized thing all herself.  I hope I’m still being so productive when I’m her age!

I hope you all had fabulous summers as well, and here’s to an equally fabulous autumn.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. September 24, 2011 12:11 PM

    Love your Nana’s quilt! So many little pieces!

    • October 14, 2011 11:46 PM

      Thanks, Kim! She’s pretty amazing, regardless of her age!

  2. Rose Cox permalink
    August 12, 2013 11:34 AM

    Where can I get the pattern for the houses quilt?

    • Cindy permalink
      August 12, 2013 12:20 PM

      I echo Rose’s question, would love the pattern!

  3. Connie McKellar permalink
    August 12, 2013 8:22 PM

    I’m with Rose and Cindy, can we get the pattern? love your Nana is so active and I just love the quilt.

  4. September 4, 2013 9:54 PM

    Would love to have the pattern ,your Nana is very good with this,she is very blessed indeed

  5. Lesley Moore permalink
    September 6, 2013 5:36 PM

    This quilt is beautiful, I have never really cared to house quilts but the one your Nana did is absolutely great. Is there a place to get this pattern as it is on my to do list now. Thanks

  6. Katherine permalink
    October 6, 2013 12:12 PM

    I too would love this pattern. Katty

  7. Donna Moores permalink
    April 12, 2014 7:33 AM

    I have been looking for a pattern like this. Any chance of sharing it?
    Donna

  8. julietwood191 permalink
    April 15, 2014 12:23 AM

    You mention on Pinterest that your Nana didn’t bother with the sashing that the pattern called for, what pattern? This is gorgeous and looks such fun to do. I love the colour choices, of course by 84 your Nana was a real expert!

I'd love to hear from you, so please share your thoughts! I try to respond whenever I can, but I don't always have chance. But I read each and every one!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 238 other followers

