Skip to content

Neutral Grid Pillow

April 24, 2011

Back when I was cutting the fabric for my “Stacks of Colour” quilt, I whipped up a pillow top as a gift for my cousin. But, in typical “me” fashion, it then sat around for over a month without my actually finishing it.  Well, I suddenly had an opportunity to get it to her without having to post it, so I stayed up late Friday night to get it done.

Neutral Grid Pillow
Neutral Grid Pillow

I’m really pleased with the way it turned out, and I’m also feeling really good about the fabrics I’ve chosen for the larger quilt.  Sewing this pillow cover has turned out to be a fabulous way to preview them before committing to the quilt.  I’m thinking that it might be something that I should do before every project!  The neutrals were also a safe choice, since I’ve never been to my cousin’s place (shameful…although it is 10 hours away…), and I wanted to be sure that it would fit in.

Hmmm...

When I put the pillow on the sofa in order to get a shot of it “in action,” as it were, Stella was convinced that I was making things comfy for her.  She immediately hopped up and went to sleep.  Thankfully the recipient has a Corgi, so Stella’s mini hairs won’t be a problem.  Of course, Stella’s only concern was that I was disturbing her nap. ;)

It seems I'm disturbing her snooze...

Edited to add: I’ve decided to enter this pillow in the April instalment of the Blogger’s Pillow Party. Click on the link to see all the other gorgeous submissions!

Blogger's Pillow Party
5 Comments leave one →
  1. April 28, 2011 1:22 PM

    What a subtle, yet lovely pillow. The various shades and grid quilting do so much. Thanks for joining in on the Pillow Party!

    • April 28, 2011 7:35 PM

      Thank you so much! I really admire your work, so that’s high praise! I love the idea of the Pillow Party, so I’m sorry that I didn’t get involved sooner than now. I hope you decide to run it again in the future. :)

  2. Manda permalink
    April 29, 2011 6:48 AM

    This is great! So simple but effective!
    Co-ordinates well with Stella too! :)

    • April 29, 2011 9:36 AM

      Thanks! Stella thinks that ANYTHING soft coordinates with her. :)

  3. May 3, 2014 3:22 PM

    One of the best I have ever seen. It is a good example to explain color value. You nailed it.

I'd love to hear from you, so please share your thoughts! I try to respond whenever I can, but I don't always have chance. But I read each and every one!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 249 other followers

